Penn State junior defensive end Chop Robinson was named first-team All-Big Ten by the coaches and media on Tuesday afternoon as part of the first of two days of conference recognitions this week. Offensive player league awards will be announced on Wednesday.

In addition to Robinson, sophomore linebacker Abdul Carter was voted first team by the coaches, while senior defensive end Adisa Isaac was selected first team by the media.
Aside from that trio of players, a host of other Nittany Lions took home conference honors on Tuesday as 13 other Penn State players were recognized on second, third or honorable mention teams. Leading off that group was CB Kalen King (second team), CB/PR Daequan Hardy (second team as return specialist; third team as defensive back), K Alex Felkins (second team), DE Dani Dennis-Sutton (third team), CB Johnny Dixon (third team), DT Zane Durant (honorable mention), DT Dvon Ellies (honorable mention), LB Curtis Jacobs (honorable mention), LB Kobe King (honorable mention), S Jaylen Reed (honorable mention), KR Nicholas Singleton (honorable mention), P Riley Thompson (honorable mention) and S Kevin Winston Jr. (honorable mention).
The Penn State defense leads the country in total defense, sacks per game and total sacks. Penn State’s nation-leading 223.2 total yards allowed per game currently stands as the lowest in a single season in the FBS since Alabama’s 183.6 in 2011.

Penn State will find out its bowl destination on Sunday following the conclusion of the various conference championship games. The Nittany Lions are 10-2 coming off a dominating victory over Michigan State this past Friday at Ford Field in Detroit to close out the regular season. Michigan is slated to face Iowa in the Big Ten Title game on Saturday.

The post Penn State Football: Trio of Nittany Lions Get First-Team All-Big Ten Defensive Honors appeared first on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>