All three incumbent Centre County commissioners are set to return for new four-year terms.

With all precincts at least partially reported, Democrats Amber Concepcion and Mark Higgins and Republican Steve Dershem appeared victorious in the four-way race for the board’s three seats in Tuesday’s election, outpacing Republican candidate Marie Librizzi.

Higgins, the current chair of the board, will return for a third term after leading all candidates with 20,183 votes as of 11:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

Concepcion, who was appointed commissioner in January when Michael Pipe departed for a role in Gov. Josh Shapiro’s administration, had 19,166 votes on her way to her first full term on the board.

Dershem appears set for his sixth term as commissioner, having won 18,501 votes.

In other contested countywide elections, Controller Jason Moser (D) and Treasurer Colleen Kennedy (D) both appear to be on their way to their second terms. In the recorder of deeds race, six-term Republican incumbent Joseph Davidson held a 127-vote lead over Democratic challenger Robert Zeigler.


CandidateVotesMark Higgins (D)20,183Amber Cistaro Concepcion (D)19,166Steve Dershem (R)18,501Marie Librizzi (R)16,135


Jason Moser (D)20,766Trevor Stauffer (R)17,751


Joseph Davidson (R)19,365Robert Zeigler (D)19,238


Colleen Kennedy (D)21,049Justin Behrens (R)17,558


Incumbents were unchallenged in several countywide offices and judicial races and all but assured reelection.


Scott Sayers (D): 33,209

Sayers will be elected to a seventh term.

Prothonotary/Clerk of Courts

Jeremy Breon (D): 29,264

Breon will be elected to a second term.

Register of Wills

Christine Millinder (R): 29,580

Millinder will be elected to a third term.


Bryan Sampsel (R): 29,497

Sampsel will be elected to a third term.

Magisterial District 49-2-01 Judge

Casey McClain (D/R): 9,764

McClain will be elected to a second six-year term.

Magisterial District 49-3-03 Judge

Allen Sinclair (D/R): 2,762

Sinclair will be elected to a fifth six-year term.

Centre County Court of Common Pleas Judge

Julia Rater (D/R): 32,388

Rater will be elected to her first full 10-year term. Rater won both party nominations in Mayand was appointed in August to fill the vacancy created by Judge Pamela Ruest’s retirement through the end of 2023.

The post 2023 Election Results: Centre County Board of Commissioners and Row Offices appeared first on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>